Crazy in November

As I type, I’m hearing Peggy Lee singing “Crazy in the Heart.” Does anyone out there remember that song? Well, if you read this to the end, you’ll know that I’m either just plain crazy, or I’m going to be “crazy in November.” Here’s why. Our Osher at the U will be ending November 2, and I’ve been looking ahead to the “break” before new classes begin in January.

It was looking good. Nothing other than Thanksgiving, daughter #1 home for a visit, and possibly a little Christmas shopping. Other than that, plenty of time to catch up on housework, art and sewing projects, and lots of time for reading–which will never be caught up.

So I went over to Paul’s Eldertribune one day last week to see what was new over there. He’s joined up to write a 50,000 word novel in the ninth annual NaNoWriMo (National November Writing Month) effort. In addition to all the other writing he’s doing on the Elders blog, he’s taken on the challenge of writing a 50,000 word novel during the month of November. He extended the challenge to his readers, and, well–long story short–I registered.

There are no winners in this contest, unless you finish, so I can live with that. The idea is to write everyday, and so fast that you have to stifle the editor inside that keeps you from writing in the first place. In my case, I worked one to death back in the 1980s, simply because I couldn’t get the editor in me to just shut up. Well, this time is different. I have nothing to lose except maybe my sanity. But maybe I’ve already lost that.

Other participants, including Paul, have said this has to be a “beginning from scratch” effort, so I can’t get out the one “book” I was trying to make into a novel way back in the 1980s, it’ll have to be a brand new one. At 1685 words a day, every day, I will make it, though I already know I won’t be able to post that many words every day of the month. Not with a short visit to friends in Las Vegas, the holiday and family, trying to keep up with minimal housework, keep laundry done and Hubby fed. But when it’s all over, if I’m not totally crazy and in a looney bin, I’ll be the closest I’ve ever been to having a completed novel.

Rewriting can begin in December. I’ll fill you in on more details later. After I’m started, you can probably visit me over there in NaNoWriMo land and see how awful I’m doing. And hey, if you’re interested and up to the challenge, join me! Just click on the link above and go to it. 

6 thoughts on “Crazy in November

  1. Looks like Dad and I will be taking over some duties while I’m visiting! (Since when did I become Daughter #1?) 🙂

    I always knew I was the best!!! 🙂

  2. HEY….how come i lost my standing????

    too much babysitting?

    i’m happy to do the cooking while you’re scribing yourself into nutsville.

  3. Hey, the only competition, as I see it, is myself. I’ll give it a whirl; just to finish will mean I win! And I’m always happy to have you cook. You’re much better at it than I!

  4. Ohhhhhhhhh my. This sounds fun! Fun and scary … I am trying to decide if I have the time commitment it would take. But then I haven’t the foggiest idea of what I would write about. Good luck to you.

  5. I signed up to do it just in case the world slows down … but I don’t see it happening for me in November. It got me to thinking again about a storyline I’ve wanted to write, though. I’ll start working on it and see how it goes. At least that is something positive, hehe. It sounds fun though. Maybe if I plan ahead for next year I’ll have more November time. (Yeah right)

It's always nice to know what you're thinking...

