ever changing language . . . by One o’the Nine

I’m deeply engrossed in a new book this week, MAD GIRLS IN LOVE (2005) by Michael Lee West, a lively tale of six unforgettable, multigenerational Southern women, since I had so enjoyed her CRAZY LADIES (from 1999). Reading southern books virtually takes me home to the south and re-connects me with my southern roots without my ever having to leave my home here. I’m a G.R.I.T.S. girl through and through no matter how far away I travel. (Translation: I’m a Girl Raised In The South.) I guess that’s why I so easily identify with Bitsy, one of the characters who changes in subtle and not-so-subtle ways over the years. I’ve been living north or west of the Mason Dixon line for many decades, and MAD GIRLS reminds me that once I spoke a different language and was a different person–intentionally or not. I’ve taken on a different vocabulary over the years. Anyhow, seeing as how I can hardly wait to get back to my reading, I’m posting one of the last entries I have from one of the nine. In this looking back interlude, you can see that, even for him, language was beginning to change.

* * * * * * *

009_9-2Have you ever wondered what happened to the old time country language like our daddies and grandfathers spoke? My daddy never said “he helped someone pick cotton,” he said, “I hope John pick his cotton.” Do you remember when we called peanuts “penders?” In the winter months we had to shell about four quarts of “penders” each  morning before breakfast and another four quarts each evening before going to bed. We used the shelled “penders” for seed to plant in the spring.

We had a man who worked for us who got into a brawl one Saturday night and was stabbed. My Daddy told us later that “Tudd” had gotten stobbed Saturday night. Do you remember when the old timers never said “they were going in swimming.” They said “I’m going to the creek and go in a washing. One of those old timers that lived near us back in the late thirties had finished picking and selling his tobacco. He decided to do something special for his family who had worked so hard in it. So he took them to Jacksonville Beach to go swimming. As he drove along the crowded beach boulevard, a policeman stopped him and asked, “Where are you going so fast?” The old timer’s answered, “We are just going over to the ocean to go in a washing.” The policeman looked puzzled and told him to move on.

We always ordered our clothes from a mail order catalog. After wearing them one time Mother washed them and they shrank up about six inches. We never said they “shrank.” We said “The clothes ‘drawed up’ about six inches. How many of you have ever gone to the field to get tomatoes, potatoes and fresh new corn? We always went to the field to get maters, taters and rosen ears. I hear my children talk about their new stereo. We never had a stereo, we had a talking machine or a Victrola that you cranked up with a handle.

We never went to a dentist with a toothache. We went to the tooth doctor with a holler tooth. I once had an aunt that fainted quite often. We said she had “spells” a lot. We never ate a large amount of anything. We et a bate of it. I will admit our language was different from that we hear used today. [mid-1980s] We didn’t have words like “rite on” or “that dude,” and “crack” was a space between the boards in the floor.

POSTSCRIPT:  I didn’t want to stop without leaving you with a couple of little gems (from the book) that sounded like things that could have come from one of my aunts or grandmas, or even Mama, about raising children…and I can’t quote it directly because it’s impossible to find it in my Nook because I can’t remember where I saw  them.  One is about how having children brings you pain throughout their life and yours, heartaches when they’re little and a pain in the ass when they’re grown (or something like that), and my favorite (I have to remember this!), that while they’re growing up you sew their wings on as tight as you can, and then you have to remember to let go.” Of course my mother and the women I grew up with never did, but that’s a story for another day.

14 thoughts on “ever changing language . . . by One o’the Nine

  1. Great post!!!!

    My paternal grandparents were country folk (only damn Ohio Yankees), too, and I just spent five minutes trying to remember some of things they used to say. My maternal grandparents (also country folk) spoke German a lot as they were new to this country. At times, some of their expressions pop out and it confuses whoever I’m talking with. Oh well. I love it when you recall your youth.

    • Kay, if you’ll forgive me for being southern I can forgive you for being a Yankee. After all, you’re not one who can easily have the wool pulled over your eyes! I love hearing from you.

    • I’m so glad you noticed! The old one was so drab looking (I made it myself) that I could hardly stand to look at it anymore. Wouldn’t the tree-scape have looked awesome with all that WordPress snow in December? The book in this post is one of those easy reads and a lot of fun to boot. It shouldn’t be much of a problem to find even though it’s old in publishing world standards.

  2. Yeah. I’m a GRITS too! Thank you for the post. I remember when I first moved “north” and pulled into a gas station and said, “Would you check my awl (oil) please.” And the attendant said, “Check you what?!” I finally learned to put in all those extra syllables, and say slacks instead of britches.

    • I hear you! Hubby remembers vividly when he was fresh out of India in Florida and he or his friends heard that “check you awl” every time he got a fill-up (back when gas stations were “service” stations). Also when they asked for directions and leave the station, turn to each other and say, “Did you understand what he said?” Hubby and I continue to have fun, thanks to the serving boys working in the University of Florida cafeteria, when we order a sandwich. He never ordered the burger but accepted the french fries (because he doesn’t eat meat) so they always asked as he approached their station, “how-bout-chew, buddy, french fries?” Yes, I’ll bet you and I–probably everyone else who reads Wintersong too–could have a lot of fun remembering the way we were.

  3. I loved the journey through the language of your southern roots.

    I love the new layout and now have itchy feet to spruce up my own place! I’m off to the drawing board.

    • Thanks for noticing! I have a lot of “house cleaning” to do on my site. I set most things–like category–up long before I knew what I was doing in the blogging world, and have never gone back to fix it. Like Ralph Kramden used to say, “one of these days, Alice!” (I forget, being in Ireland you probably don’t know Ralph. He was a character on TV in the 50s (?) or 60s played by Jackie Gleason, a very popular comedian here at the time. I’ll be over to check out your new house soon.

      • lice you are correct, Ralph Kramden is a stranger to me. Now take your time, I am at the mulling and gathering of my thoughts re the face change. So much to consider.. what to cull and what to add? It will happen. 😀

        • 😆 This is especially funny today, seeing as how just on Sunday, as my granddaughter was printing out name cards for the “fancy” table she was setting up, she left out the “e” on the end, so I was showing her how the spelling could be remembered by putting a tiny space between the A and the L and you spell A Lice. I thought that would help her remember. No offense taken at all–just a grin. 😀 or two 😀 or three 😀 See how silly I can get!

  4. We were trained to take care of others. So we couldn’t let go. 🙂

    How about “underwear pants.” I like that one from a friend who denies she ever said it. It’s a midwesternism. 🙂 Wonderful post. Thank you.

    • Yes, Mage, I guess I didn’t always trust my sewing abilities also. I do try though. People are pretty resilient, after all–or capable of being so–if they’ll only put their minds to it!

It's always nice to know what you're thinking...

